Job Scheduler: Qualifying Users to Jobs

For accounts with the Jobs Tab

Yarden Jablon avatar
Written by Yarden Jablon
Updated over a week ago

In every company, from a small business to a big corporation - every employee has a job they're qualified for. With Connecteam, you can make sure every user is assigned only to the jobs they're qualified for according to their position, location, abilities and more!

In this article we will go over:

For admins to be able to make changes to Jobs, they must have admin permissions to the Jobs tab. Learn how to grant admin permissions here.

How to Qualify Users to Jobs

To qualify users for jobs, access the Job Scheduler and click on the Jobs button:

If you need to create a new job, click 'Add job' and select 'Create new job'. If you need to edit an existing job's qualifications, hover over the relevant job and click on the 'Settings' icon.

Once you're in the job details, choose if to qualify the job to smart groups or select users.

💡 Tip: Not familiar with the Smart Groups capability? Learn more about it here!

When creating a new job, you can also create sub-jobs and qualify those to users by clicking on the ‘Add sub-job’ button! Let’s go over how to do it.

How to Qualify Users to Sub-Jobs

Sub-jobs give you the option to create jobs that are aligned and connected to the parent job, making your scheduling process more detailed and accurate.

For example, if you have a job that is a client with multiple locations the sub-jobs can be these locations.

The default option for the sub-job settings would be the same as the parent job, meaning - the users that are qualified to the parent job would also be qualified for the sub-job. You can adjust this setting by unselecting the box that says 'Use same settings as a parent job' and adjust the users/smart groups that are qualified for this sub-job:

When an admin wants to assign users to a shift, the system will group them into 'Qualified users' and 'Other users' to give you an indication of who's qualified for this job and who's not:

💡 Tip: You can always change the qualification of an existing job from the settings of each job.

How does this look for users?

In general, qualifying users for jobs has no impact on which shifts they will see on the job scheduler. Users will still be able to view shifts that they’re not qualified for when switching to the ‘Everyone’ tab in the mobile app.

For open shifts, only users who are qualified for the job specified in that shift will be able to claim it. If the user is not qualified for the job, they'll still be able to see it but won't be able to claim it:

💡 Tip: If your time clock and your job scheduler are synced - every job created in the job scheduler and its settings and qualifications will auto-populate in the time clock.

Related Articles

Need more guidance? 🙋 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies to ANY question.

Did this answer your question?