All Collections
Time Tracking, Scheduling, and the Jobs Tab
The Jobs Tab
Time Clock: Understanding Jobs and How to Use Them
Time Clock: Understanding Jobs and How to Use Them

For accounts with the Jobs Tab

Yarden Jablon avatar
Written by Yarden Jablon
Updated over a week ago

Jobs provide another layer of information to the hours your employees worked. Jobs can signify different things depending on how you run your business. Jobs may represent positions such as manager/waiter/hostess/cook. These may be customers, or projects, such as cleaning, roofing, or delivery. They can be worksites such as the location your user is working at. Creating jobs and using them in the Time Clock can help you track where your resources and hours worked were spent.

Not familiar with our Time Clock feature? Check out our Starting Guide to the Time Clock.

For admins to be able to make changes to Jobs, they must have admin permissions to the Jobs tab. Learn how to grant admin permissions here.

How to Add Jobs

To add a new job, first enter the Time Clock and click on the Jobs button at the top right of the schedule.

To add a new job, click 'Add job'.

You now have two options: choose from unassigned jobs or choose to create a new job. Unassigned jobs are jobs that have already been created but not yet assigned to this time clock. Creating a new job enables you to create an entirely new job.

If you need to create a new job, fill out the job details, choose which users are qualified, and which time clocks and job schedulers to assign the job to.

How to Edit Jobs

Through the Jobs button, you can edit an existing job and control the job settings. Click on the Settings icon to edit the job details.

Please note: Editing the job here will affect other Time Clocks and Job Schedulers this this job is assigned to.

💡 Tip: When adding a job be sure to set the Qualified Users, these will be the users who are able or “qualified” for this job. For example, if I have a restaurant and I create a job called 'Waiter', I may select only the Users who are waiters or if I have created a Smart Group for waiters then I can select that group. Please note that users will only be able to clock in to jobs they are qualified for.

What are Sub-Jobs, and How to Create Them?

Sub-jobs give you the option to create jobs that are aligned and connected to the main job. Sub-jobs can be created inside the parent job and can be used in a variety of ways. For example, if you have a job that is a client with multiple locations the sub-jobs can be this location. Another example is if you have a main job which is the location of a project, but have multiple jobs at that project such as roofing, flooring or painting these can be set up as sub-jobs.

To set up sub-jobs, enter the Time Clock and add a job as done above. While creating the job, scroll down, click on 'Add sub-job' and add the relevant sub-jobs.

When creating sub-jobs it is important to make sure you qualify the relevant users. The default option for the sub-job settings is to be the same as the parent job. This means that the users who are qualified for the parent job will also be qualified for the sub-job. You can change this by un-checking the option 'Use same settings as parent job' and selecting the relevant qualified users or smart groups.

In the example below you can see I created a Job which is the location 678 Parker Ave with two sub-jobs Demolition and Roofing.

Screenshot of sub-jobs in Connecteam's Time Clock admin dashboard

💡 Tip: Sub-jobs can't be added to existing jobs. They can only be added when creating a new job.

How Do Jobs and Sub-Jobs Look in the Today Tab and in a User's Timesheets?

When entering the Today tab or the timesheets the sub-jobs will appear next to the parent job. Take a look at how this looks below.

In the Today Tab

Screenshot of jobs and sub-jobs on the Today tab in Connecteam's Time Clock admin dashboard

In a User's Timesheet

Screenshot of jobs and sub-jobs on the timesheets tab in Connecteam's Time Clock admin dashboard

How to Un-assign or Delete Jobs

Un-assigning a job from the Time Clock should be done if the job is no longer needed for the Time Clock, but is used elsewhere on the platform for other time clocks or schedules.

To unassign a job from the Time Clock, click on the Jobs button, hover over the relevant job, click on the three dots, and choose Unassign.

Deleting a job entirely from the platform should be done if the job is no longer in use anywhere on the platform. Meaning, that users don't need it for tracking time or for scheduling purposes.

To delete a job, click on the Jobs button, hover over the relevant job, click on the three dots, and choose Delete.

Related Articles

Need more guidance? 🙋 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies to ANY question.

Did this answer your question?