Chat Statuses

Learn how to effectively tailor communications with employees

Yarden Jablon avatar
Written by Yarden Jablon
Updated over a week ago

Chat Statuses provide a real-time view of user availability. Indicating whether a user is currently online or when they were last seen allows you to gauge their availability and tailor your communication accordingly.

In this article, we'll go over:

The Benefits of Viewing a User's Status

  1. Improved Communication: Chat Statuses empower users to make informed decisions about when to send messages and expect replies. Knowing whether a coworker is currently online can help prioritize tasks and optimize communication strategies.

  2. Compliance with Industry Regulations: Chat Statuses help in ensuring compliance with regulations that limit employer-employee communication outside of work hours. By knowing if an employee is currently working, managers can avoid sending messages during non-working hours.

  3. Enhanced Productivity: Considering a user's last seen activity can guide decisions regarding the urgency of messages. If a user hasn't been connected recently, sending an urgent or important message in chat may not be the most effective approach.

How to View a User's Status

On the Dashboard

  1. Access the Chat feature on the sidebar.

  2. Click on any chat conversation with another user.

  3. See the user's status below their name.

On the Mobile App

  1. Access the Chat feature.

  2. Press on any chat conversation with another user.

  3. See the user's status below their name.

Status Types

Online: Users are considered 'Online' as long as they are active on the platform. On the web app, this means that the browser is open and the user is on the Connecteam tab. On the mobile app, this means the app is open and the screen is on.

Last seen: After 5+ minutes of inactivity, the status changes to 'Last Seen'. For instance, this will occur when the user closes or minimizes the Connecteam tab on the desktop or closes the mobile app.

On time off: Users on time off will have this displayed in their chat status. This is the "strongest" chat status, meaning if a user is clocked in or is assigned to a shift on a day they have approved time off, the time off indicator will appear as the status to serve as a heads-up to managers before they contact a user.

Clocked in: Users who are currently clocked in will have this displayed in their chat status.

On shift: Users who are assigned to a shift on a Job Scheduler at this time will have this displayed.

Please note - If a user is clocked in and assigned to a shift, the 'clocked in' status will appear because it's the "stronger" status. It offers a better indication of the user's current availability, as they had to actively clock in to start working, whereas being 'on shift' means they are not clocked in.

💡 Tip: The displayed time and date stamps are based on your account's General Settings.

How can I make sure that I don't send a message when a user is not working?

The Chat Status bar above the message composer will indicate if a user is currently not working, giving you a heads-up while you're typing out your message. The status bar message will change depending on whether the user is off the clock, not on shift, or on time off. If you see a user is not clocked in at the moment, you may want to consider sending the message at a different time which you can do by scheduling a chat message.

Keep in mind, this status bar will only appear to users who are assigned to a Time Clock or Job Scheduler. If a user is assigned to both, it will indicate when they are not clocked in because it is the "stronger" status.

Status bars can only be seen on the dashboard site at the moment.

Related Articles

Need more guidance? 🙋 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies to ANY question.

Did this answer your question?