Time Clock customization allows you to add and remove different functionalities in order to meet your organization's time management workflow. Toggling different switches on or off will affect the Time Clock's interface in accordance with your selections, so it's easy to use and intuitive for your users with any setup you choose.

In this article we'll cover the following:

  • Section 1 > The ability to decide how users can track their work time

  • Section 2 > The ability to select which user actions require an admin's approval

  • Different use cases for a quick and easy setup

  • Which options are available in each plan


Section 1 >The ability to decide how users can track their work time

Users can track their work hours in multiple ways with Connecteam, whether if by clocking in and out from their mobile app, from the a company device using the Kiosk App, directly from their schedule or by adding time records to their timesheets.

By customizing this section, you'll be able to decide how users can track their work time and from which device. Let's cover the options:

  • Option 1 > determines if users can clock in and out from their mobile devices with the Connecteam app. By toggling this option OFF, users won't have the ability to clock in and out in real time from their mobile app as the main "Start Shift" button will be replaced with another option according to your selection

  • Option 2 > determines if users can clock in and out from the Kiosk App. Same outcome as with option 1, but regarding the Kiosk App only

  • Option 3 > if you're using Connecteam's scheduling feature and the schedule is synced with the Time Clock, you can decide if users can clock in and out directly from their scheduled shifts

  • Option 4 > determines if users can add shift records to their timesheets, regardless being able to clock in and out realtime or not. In the following section you'll be able to decide if those shift records added by the users will be pending an admin's approval before being added to the timesheets


Sections 2 > The ability to select which user actions require an admin's approval

This section allows you to decide which user actions require an admin's approval. With the switch toggled ON, the action will not automatically be updated in the user's timesheets, but will generate a new request to be approved by an admin.

Even if you've selected that certain actions will not require an approval by an admin, you'll still be able to view what was added by each user and when, by opening the time clock requests window and clicking on History.

  • Option 1 > determines if shift records or breaks that were added manually by a user will be pending an admin's approval. When switched OFF, users can add work hours and breaks to their timesheets without an approval. As an admin, you'll still be able to access all timesheets and modify them as you'd like

  • Option 2 > determines if users can edit or delete shift records or breaks from their timesheets. When switched OFF, users will be able to modify existing records in their timesheets without an approval. As an admin, you'll still be able to access all timesheets and modify them as you'd like, but so will the users

  • Option 3 > determines if users can add paid or unpaid time off to their timesheets. When switched OFF, users can absences to their timesheets without an approval. As an admin, you'll still be able to access all timesheets and modify them as you'd like

  • Option 4 > determines if users can clock out outside geographical fenced sites without an admin's approval. By default, users can't clock out outside the geofence and they can either try again when in the work site or request to clock out and have that shift approved by an admin. When this option is switched OFF, users will be able to clock out from anywhere, even when Geofence is activated, while clocking in will still have to be inside a fenced work site


Different use cases for a quick and easy setup

Many options, right? Don't worry, we added a few suggestions for you based on common use cases. Note that these are only suggestions, and you as an admin have the control to modify them as you see fit.

Let's get started!

⭐️ The default setup:

Users can clock in and out in any way they find comfortable, but everything that's not happening real time will have to be approved by an admin

  • All switches are ON

  • Users can clock in and out from their mobile app's time clock

  • Users can clock in and out from the Kiosk app if it was set up by an admin

  • Users can clock in and out directly from their scheduled shifts

⏱ The "Kiosk only" setup:

Users can clock in and out only from the Kiosk app, but can use their mobile app for anything else

  • Clock in and out switches are ON for the Kiosk only

  • Users can still add time clock requests

  • Users can use the all the other features of the app from their mobile app

🗓 The "timesheets app" setup:

Users can edit and add records to their timesheets with no need for an admin's approval, there's no clock in and out realtime option, absences will need to be approved by an admin

  • Users don't clock in and out realtime

  • Users can manually add shift records to their timesheets without an admin's approval

  • Users can request paid or not paid time off (absences)

🏖 The "PTO approvals only" setup:

Users use the time clock only to request time off (paid or not paid). When an absence is approved, it will automatically be added to the user's timesheets and will sync across all schedules as an approved unavailability for the user

  • All options for time tracking are turned OFF (upper section)

  • Users will be able to request absences and view their request status

📲 The "clock in to scheduled shifts only" setup:

Users can clock in and out only if they have a scheduled shift. They can't track work time if a shift wasn't scheduled for them by an admin

  • The option to clock in directly from the time clock in the mobile app is turned OFF

  • The option to clock in from the Kiosk app is turned OFF


Which options are available in each plan

Basic plan:

  • By default, all switches are turned on

  • Section 1 options can't be modified

  • Section 2 options can be modified

  • The Geofence option under Section 2 can't be modified as Geofence in on the Advanced plan and above

Advanced plan and above:

  • All options can be modified

Free plan:

  • By default, section 1 options are turned on and can't be modified

  • Section 2 options are turned off and can't be modified

Did this answer your question?