Smart Groups are a great tool to organize and structure your company and easily distribute the relevant content to the relevant people, which is key when running a business. However, Smart Groups can be time-consuming to create, especially when dealing with user fields with multiple options. To save time, you can automatically create smart groups based on dropdown user profile fields.
Automatically creating smart groups will allow you to keep your teams organized by department, location skillset, or any other relevant dropdown criteria. It means that whenever you have a new dropdown field added, the smart group and the included users will automatically get adjusted, so your groups will always remain up-to-date!
In this article, we'll go over:
Enabling Smart Group Auto-creation
To enable the ability to automatically create smart groups:
Go to the Users tab and Access the Settings found at the top right of the page.
Access the User Details tab, and add a new dropdown user profile field or navigate to an existing dropdown field.
Click on the three dots on the right side of the field and select Edit.
In the separate modal that opens, toggle on Auto create Smart Groups, found on the bottom right.
Now, each new dropdown option will lead to a new smart group getting created and will automatically populate with users marked with the option. Users will leave or join groups based on the selection, which will keep the smart group up to date.
Important Note: Changing this setting requires admin permissions to 'Users Management'. Learn how to set admin permissions in the Users tab here.
In the example below, I have created a new dropdown user profile field for location allocation. For each new location created (Main Street, Park Avenue, Boulevard Lane), a new smart group is created. Any users put in that branch will appear in that smart group.
In the Smart Groups tab, automatically created smart groups are identified with the 'A' symbol. Segments are created according to the user profile field fields (for example, Branch or Position). They cannot be edited or deleted on the Smart Groups tab, only from the User Details page.
Editing Smart Groups & Segments
To make any changes to automatically created segments or smart groups, head over to the settings in the users page. Here, you can make any changes to the name, add or remove dropdown options, or delete the field entirely.
To edit segment names or smart group names:
Go to the Users page and access the Settings found at the top right of the page.
Access the User Details tab locate the relevant user detail field.
Click the three dots on the right of the field, and select Edit.
Change the name of the segment (ex: Location) or of the dropdown options (for example, changing Park Avenue to Brooklyn). The dropdown options will change the smart group name.
To add or remove dropdown options:
Go to the Users page and access the Settings found at the top right of the page.
Access the User Details tab locate the relevant user detail field.
Click the three dots on the right of the field, and select Edit.
Locate the relevant dropdown option and click the trash icon.
To delete the dropdown field altogether, click the three dots on the right of the field, and select Delete.
If the field only has automatically created smart groups using the field as its filter, it will delete all smart groups and the segment. If the field has both automatically created groups and manually created groups, you will receive a pop-up letting you know which groups are getting filtered by this field. Then, you will need to delete those groups first in order to be able to delete the field.
Disabling Smart Group Auto-creation
If you'd like to manually manage your smart groups, you can disable the auto-creation. To disable the ability to automatically create smart groups:
Go to the Users page and access the Settings found at the top right of the page.
Access the User Details tab locate the relevant user detail field.
Click the three dots on the right of the field, and select Edit.
Toggle off 'Auto create Smart Groups', located on the bottom right.
When you toggle this off, you’ll receive a pop-up asking to delete the groups that were automatically created or keep them. If you decide to delete them, this will delete all smart groups that were auto-created.
If you decide to keep them, it’ll convert them to regular groups. This will allow you to edit the smart groups from the smart groups tab.
💡 Tip: If you switch the toggle on, off, and back on again - all groups that were not touched when the toggle was off will turn back into automatic groups. If a group was edited in the time that the feature was off, that group will remain as is (not automatic) and a new group will be created for that item.
*Creating Smart Groups is available from the Advanced Plan in any hub.*
Related Articles
Need more guidance? 🙋 Our support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies to ANY question.







