Archiving and Deleting Users

How to archive or delete users

Roni Matza avatar
Written by Roni Matza
Updated this week

An employee left the company and you would like to revoke their access to the app? This article will guide you on the steps to delete or archive a user and will suggest which of the two options is optimal for you!

In this article, we will go over:

What are the Differences Between Deleting and Archiving a User?

Once a user is no longer a part of your organization, as a manager, you have two options:

  • Delete the user

  • Archive the user

While both options "kick" the user out of the platform with no option to re-enter the app, there are some major differences between the two from the Admin's perspective.

  • While deleting a user deletes all records and actions this user performed in the app, archiving saves these records for admins to re-enter for review at any time they wish.

  • Once you delete a user, there is no possibility to restore the user or their data. If you wish to add this user again, you must add him/her from scratch. On the contrary, once you archive a user, the Admin can always restore this user without the need to re-invite them to the app.

How Do I Archive or Delete a User?

To archive a user simply:

  1. Go to the "Users" tab located on your sidebar.

  2. Hover over to the very right of the user's name.

  3. Click on the "Archive" icon.

4. Click on "Archive"

Congratulations! You just archived a user. This action allows you to revoke the user's access to the app while maintaining their data and having the ability to restore them. This is also useful in the case that an employee quits and you need to revoke their access to the app.

To delete a user simply:

  1. Go to the "Users" tab located on your sidebar.

  2. Hover over to the very right of the user's name.

  3. Press the trash can icon.

4. Click on "Delete"

You have just deleted a user. Please note that once you delete the user, their account and all their data cannot be restored.

How Do I Restore an Archived User?

1. Enter the Archived Users tab located on the top right of your screen.

2. Once there, hover your mouse over the relevant user and a square "restore" icon will appear.

3. Press it in order to restore your user.

What happens when I restore an archived user?

A seasonal business might need to archive and unarchive users from time to time, or if you have an employee that left for maternity leave and now needs to get back to the platform. When archiving an existing user, you have the ability to restore them at any time and keep their data within the system.

When you archive the user, the user will have no access to the platform whatsoever. Once you restore the user from the archived tab, the user will be able to access the app and there is no need to send them the invite link. If the user has the app on their phone, they simply need to log in with their mobile number and the one-time code they will receive as an SMS, or if they deleted the app, they simply need to download the Connecteam App from the app store and log in.

Related Articles


*Archiving users is available on the Advanced plan and above (in any hub)*

Need more guidance? 🙋 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies to ANY question.

Did this answer your question?