Our chat is a great way to communicate with your workforce. It's easy and instant! The Chat Settings allow you to decide how users can connect on the chat and guarantee that you stay on top of your main communication tool like never before.

In this article, we will go over:

Now let's get started! First, let's activate the Chat from the LaunchPad.

Activating Your Company Chat

To activate the chat simply go to Launchpad on the left sidebar Company Chat, once inside simply click on the Activate Chat button. Now, the chat is available in the app and on the desktop for mobile users and admins.


How to Find Your Chat Settings

Next, let's navigate to the Chat Settings. Enter the Chat, to the options tab, and select Settings.

Once inside the settings, there are 3 main categories of settings, with different options inside These are Private Chat Settings, Team Chat Settings, and Sharing Settings.

Let's go over these different options below!


We're in this together! 🙏🏻 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies in under 5 mins to ANY question.


Private Chat Settings

The mobile users' chatting options allow admins to choose whether mobile users are able to create chats, or not, or whether they can only start chats with other users who meet specific criteria. Below we will go over the different options.

Users can start a chat conversation with other users

This allows mobile users to start a chat with anyone

Users can't start chat conversations with other users

By choosing this option, a mobile user will not be able to start a chat with anyone, or unless the user meets certain criteria. Here you have two options:

  • Option 1: Unless they have the same - Here you can choose from the dropdown criteria that the other user needs to match in order for them to be able to chat, for example, position. This corresponds to the Custom fields selected in their user profile. When using this option users will only be allowed to chat with those who have the same custom fields that do.

For example: if we have a restaurant with positions such as waiters, hostesses, cooks, etc. when using this chat setting then waiters can only chat with other waiters, hostesses with other hostesses, cooks with other cooks, and nobody else. Take a look at how this looks below.

Pro tip: This only applies to Custom Fields that are created as drop-downs in the User Profile. Take a look at our Drop Down Custom Fields article to learn more about this.

  • Option 2: Unless those other users are - Here you can choose not to allow your users to chat with anyone except select users that you choose.

For example: you may choose to allow them to start chats only with the person who is their manager. Take a look at how this looks below.

Users can never start conversations with:

This option allows you to Select Users who users will never be able to start conversations with. For example, this might be your CEO, Payroll Manager, or anyone else who you dont want users to start chats with.

Pro Tip: These settings and options mentioned aren't exclusive, meaning you can use more than one of the chat settings at the same time, fully customizing your company's chat experience.


We're in this together! 🙏🏻 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies in under 5 mins to ANY question.


Team Chat Settings

Users Can Create Teams

This allows users to create teams, except for select users that you choose who can not. In the example below you call see I allow all my users but one to create teams.

Users Can Not Create Teams

This option will not all users to create a team except for the select users you set.

In the example below you can see that no users can create teams, except one.


Sharing Settings

The default sharing settings allow you to decide if users can share content shared with the

The options default settings are:

  • Users can forward messages and attachments to other teams and chat in the app: this means users can share content from one team chat to another one inside the app.

  • Users can share images and videos shared in the company app to other apps: this means that users can share content from the platform with other apps, for example, WhatsApp, Facebook, Gmail, etc.

If you do not want users to share content with other teams inside the chat, or share content outside of your app, you can toggle off these settings. You can see how this looks below.

Need more guidance? 🙋 Our LIVE support team (at the bottom right corner of your screen) replies in under 5 mins to ANY question.

Did this answer your question?