When it comes to location tracking, Connecteam has three capabilities to offer: Geolocation, Geofencing, and Breadcrumbs Live Tracking. Each capability is designed to cater to the different situations that our clients might experience on a day-to-day basis. With the Breadcrumbs feature, admins are able to see their employee's live location while clocked in. The location is also documented and accessible later on if you need it.

As this is a sensitive topic for many, we've decided to write the following article which will help you as managers deal with your employee's questions in regards to this feature. We've also written an article with the most common questions that managers and employees might have in relation to Breadcrumbs.

How is Breadcrumbs different from geo-fencing?

While geofencing allows you to create a radius around a specific address and ensure that employees are clocking in from the correct location and nowhere else, the breadcrumbs capability allows you to track your employees on the go

Does it track the employees only when clocked in?

While the capability requires employee's location services to be set to always, Connecteam only provides managers with their location when they are on the clock. In other words, when employees are not clocked in, we do not save that information nor display that for managers to protect your employee's privacy.

Why do employees need to set their Connecteam location services to ‘always’ instead of ‘while using the app’?

In order to provide managers with their employee's location, even if employees turn off the application, one would have to set the location services to always. With that said, as mentioned before location tracking is only enabled when users are on the clock and we do not save that information nor display that for managers to protect your employee's privacy.

Why does my or my employee’s iPhone say, “Connecteam has been using my location in the background”?

This is a native iOS capability that Apple has built into its operative system to let employees know that their location services are being tracked and is required by Apple when such a feature exists.

What if an employee goes out of cell service or their phone is shut off while clocked in?

If an employee shuts off their phone or goes out of cell service they will still remain clocked in but the application will not be able to track their location.

What happens if an employee turns off location services while they’re clocked in?

If an employee turns off their location services the application will no longer be able to track their location, but they will still remain clocked in.

"My app drains a lot of data and battery"

Our Breadcrumbs technology has been developed with energy efficiency in mind, meaning that we only capture a location stamp when they move a certain distance to conserve both battery and data. In fact, our own testing shows that our technology saves up to 85% more battery and data than traditional live tracking! With that said, one should keep in mind that the application will drain more battery and data with the capability turned on compared to our geolocation and geofencing capabilities.

"What if I forget to clock out?"

Connecteam has built-in reminders to remind employees to clock out or automatically clock them out, either after a certain amount of hours worked or when their shift ends.

"This seems complex to use"

The great thing about Breadcrumbs is that employees don’t have to do anything!

As always, Connecteam is designed to be as easy to use as possible. Once the admin sets up Breadcrumbs, employees just need to give their permission and Breadcrumbs will run automatically in the background.

Did this answer your question?